Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Welcome! and rules

Joel on Software

VS.NET 2003 Developer Welcome Pack

Got yours, or didn't bother?

Hey, a free bookmark is a free bookmark!

Thursday, August 7, 2003

This looks fraudulent to me.  Why would Microsoft let someone else host this site.  Looks like an attempt to get VS users to divulge to registration number.

Fred Flintstone
Thursday, August 7, 2003

Okay, apparently the site mentioned above is genuine.  I checked with Microsoft.  Here is their response:

>My name is  Ramakrishnan and  I understand
>that you need information on a web site where
>Microsoft Products are offered .  I would like to
>tell you that the site is a genuine Microsoft
>Partner site. I have performed a search on this
>issue and found that the web site and the offer
>is genuine.

Fred Flintstone
Thursday, August 7, 2003

Microsoft frequently has various partners host promotion sites for them.

John Rosenberg
Friday, August 8, 2003

It is a Paterns & Practices book. AFAIK these are always available for free online from Microsoft.
Check out and

You can download the PDF for this book at

Just me (Sir to you)
Friday, August 8, 2003

It is genuine. I ordered mine a couple months ago, and it showed up a couple weeks ago. Absolutely free of charge.

Brad Wilson (
Friday, August 8, 2003

This is the same site that did the free PocketPC giveaway to VS.NET owners beginning of this year. It's genuine.

Chris Tavares
Saturday, August 9, 2003

*  Recent Topics

*  Fog Creek Home