Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

in place string reversal

Hi, In Joel's Guerilla Guide to Hiring he suggests several C programming problems which the interviewee can answer. The first on the list is to reverse a string in place. See http://www.joelonsoftware.com/articles/fog0000000073.html

To be honest I'm not sure what in-place means. My background is Elect. Eng not CompSci. From definitions on the web I've gathered that it means to reverse the string without using any storage locations other than the string itself.I've come up with several solns,some iterative, others recursive, but all using a temporay var. Anybody any ideas how to do this correctly?

john oliver
Thursday, October 14, 2004

I don't think this can possibly mean "With no external memory storage"--there's no way you could possibly reverse a String without using even a single local variable. What I do think it means is doing it without creating another String, or another data structure that approximates a String (such as a numerical encoding of a String).

This only makes sense in languages, like C++, where Strings are mutable objects. My language is Java, in which Strings are immutable, so I couldn't do exactly this. I could do something fairly similar with a StringBuffer or array of chars, but I won't bother. Instead, I'll write up a bit of pseudocode (this assumes the String, myString, is represented as an array of chars):

int firstPos=0;
int lastPos=myString.length - 1;
while (firstPos < lastPos)
{
  char temp=myString[firstPos];
  myString[firstPos]=myString[lastPos];
  myString[lastPos]=temp;
  firstPos++;
  lastPos--;
}

That (fixed so the syntax is legal for whatever language you're using) will do it. Note that there is a bit of external storage, but just two ints (to hold locations in the String) and one local char (as a temporary storage location to facilitate the swap). What this doesn't contain is anything like a second String.