Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Von Neumann and HCI

Does anyone in here konw the relevance of Von Neumann to the field of HCI?

Is his main contribution to computer science really the 'Von Neumann' Architecture?

He is a big part of a computer science high school syllabus, and yet I have never heard of him (I did a comp sci degree, you would think I would have heard of him during that if he is relevant to high schoolers?)

I can and am googling (please don't give me a google link). Just curious as to real thoughts on the guy and the things that may be considered 'common knowledge' about him.

Aussie Chick
Wednesday, September 01, 2004

When you need good information of this sort, don't google, wiki it ;-) . So I'll just post the link here, because it's not google:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Von_Neumann

"Von Neumann devised the von Neumann architecture used in most non-parallel-processing computers. Virtually every commercially available home computer, microcomputer and supercomputer is a von Neumann machine. He created the field of cellular automata without computers, constructing the first examples of self-replicating automata with pencil and graph paper. The term von Neumann machine also refers to self-replicating machines. Von Neumann proved that the most effective way large-scale mining operations such as mining an entire moon or asteroid belt can be accomplished is through the use of self-replicating machines, to take advantage of the exponential growth of such mechanisms.

In addition to his work on architecture, he is credited with at least one contribution the study of algorithms. Donald Knuth cites von Neumann as the inventor, in 1945, of the well known MergeSort algorithm, in which the first and second halves of an array are each sorted recursively and then merged together."

Now you know who you curse when you find yourself learning one algorithm for a few months...

Vladimir Gritsenko