Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

New take on "practicality" of Comp/Eng degrees

I did a Comp.Sci degree, and although I never used much of the theory explicitly, (Automata, sorting algorithms, Big Oh, etc),  some was used implicitly.  While I was a programmer, I often felt my degree was a waste of time, b/c I ended up being a GUI/DB type of programmer...and totally self-taught on language specifics....

However, later in life, I think it was somewhat indirectly beneficial, b/c it opening my brain up to an entire new way of processing and analyzing.  I think being a Comp.Sci major developed my sense of efficiency, and ability to view things logiclaly and in a structured manner.  That, in the context of ANY career, is helpful. 

As a result, when a young person asks me what major they should choose, I keep in mind that  *most* people do not get a job in their major anyway.    If you're major is totally irrelevant anyways, you might as well take one that will expand your brain capability.  History, English, PolySci, .....you don't need to pay $25k a year to read books and debate.  Communications, marketing,  advertizing, I don't even consider those real majors.  I'd rather do an internship to learn about those areas.

With that, I feel I can legitimately advise someone who has no intentions of being a programmer to major in CompSci. 

Anyways, with my premise, of reccomending a major solely to expand one's mind, and NOT worrying about career direction, what *Engineering* majors out there ALSO fall into this category  (One's that may be practical, or in a convoluted sense, may help their analytic ability in any career)

Bella
Tuesday, August 31, 2004