Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Best Way to develop Web Application by 1 person

I am new here! and this is my first post here on this discussion.

I need your advise that what should be the best way to develop web application (online communication system) by one person. (have to do all stuff. i.e. design, development, UI, testing and finally deploy)

What can be best steps according to you to finish the work more efficient way.

Thanks for your input in advance.

Regards,

Ashvin Savani - Arckid

Ashvin Savani - Arckid
Monday, August 30, 2004

First, get two eggs...

Monday, August 30, 2004

For a total beginner who is interested I would say...

install apache + php + mysql/postgres and start coding examples.

Then in 3 months when you have a couple of simple database driven websites re-consider what technology to use.

If you install all this free stuff at home and develop something you can host it for very little, ($10 a month).

That feeling of having your first website out there in the real world will be great.

Action not knowledge, get into it.

braid_ged
Monday, August 30, 2004

IS THIS FOR CONTRACT?

Babu Jones
Monday, August 30, 2004

>Action not knowledge, get into it.

WTH?  You must be from Texas. :)

Kalani
Monday, August 30, 2004

"For a total beginner who is interested I would say..."

I am not that much starter ... I am working on this type of stuff since last 3 years but i want to know best way / standard way to do it out. I just use my own rules to do it.

"IS THIS FOR CONTRACT? "

I am freelance developer from India. So for me its a freelance work i have to do from home.

thanks for quick response!

Ashvin Savani - Arckid
Monday, August 30, 2004