Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

I want out writing web/database applications

But I have no idea what other kinds of programming I could move to.

I'm very bored with building UIs that hit databases. I have a lot of database design experience (but I'm not that great at it), a lot of OOP background.

I just think that my area of "expertise", which is web applications that depend on databases, is becoming marginalized and in order for me to stay in the IT field I need to learn something more challenging.

Does the world really need another boring business app?  Probably, but I don't want to build them anymore.

My degree is liberal arts, so I don't have a hardcord compsci background, either. 

I have no idea what else would be interesting besides graphics programming, but without hardcore math background, I'm afraid I'm not qualified. 

Any suggestions?

bored
Monday, August 30, 2004

I'd have to disagree.

I think that far too many of all these apps are BAD, BAD, BAD.

I also think there's a whole lotta room for improvement.

But I can agree that it's quite easy to make stupid boring web apps that do x,y,z.  So, what I do is I write scripts that automate the boring part of those things, as much as possible. The whole point of the computer is to automate the rote and free the human for the creative.

However, I think you will find that if you work with people who have no imagination or vision then everything is pretty boring.

Luckily I'm pretty much left alone to develop as I want. I wish I could work more in tandem with my fellow developers but they prefer to repeat what they did yesterday. Every app I develop is different in some (and hopefully better way) than yesterday.

me
Monday, August 30, 2004

Oh, btw, for a suggestion.

I have old computes laying around waiting to be put to some use.

I recently bought TIVO.