Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Bored out of my mind

What shall I do? I'm a consultant and now I'm supporting an app we've developed. The usual: extra features, maintenance, user support. But also, the big part of it is helping the users with the data. We get data from 6 different sources and obviously it’s often screwed up. The application will flag all the anomalies and then it’s up to the users to figure it out. Well, they usually have no clue and as a result I’m sitting here for hours, staring at the numbers and truing to figure out what’s going on. I’m not a domain expert, it’s very hard, but the worst of it is that I’m so bored. I can’t help it. I spend at least a week each month doing this and my contract is till the end of the year. I’d bet they’ll extend after that.  I’m definitely looking for another job.

Anyway, that’s another day for me comparing xml files, excel files, copying, removing and modifying data. I’m bored. Any advice? How do you deal with the most boring part of your job. I’m trying to tell myself that for some people it’s all they do, but it doesn’t help.  There are still 4 month left. Help! I feel so tired too.

Donna
Wednesday, August 25, 2004

maybe you can write a comprehensive guide so that users can figure out the anomolies on their own?  they'll save money and you'll save patience.

Kenny

I'm bored as well, so I created a stupid post:

http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=179265&ixReplies=16

By the way, I learned that you're not supposed to make fun of Eric Sink's name.  I'll have to take a mulligan on that one; I'm out of sorts today.

Forecastle

Yeah, is there any way that when you flag the data you can stick one (or multiple) comments along with it to give a "best guess" of what the problem is?

KC

KC, are you bored or lost?

Forecastle

Nasty.