Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Psychology in the work place

To start this, I am not a programmer, I am what you would call a manager (Although I prefer to refer to myself as a problem solver, coordinator and the guy who tries to keep everyone happy (the customer the engineers and all other departments).
I also have a philosophy that I report to engineering and not the other way round. As I know nothing about writing code, why should I tell them how to do stuff? I just need to make sure they know what needs to be done and obtain a delivery date that is acceptable to the customer and make sure that date is met. Easy right? Well I don’t suppose anyone here needs to answer that question! What I am looking for is how better to manage people from a psychological point of view. What I am talking about is not about messing with peoples minds, but how to do the following:
•    Motivate people to want to work harder and better (as opposed to making them work harder)
•    How to get senior management to approve projects they are not really interested in. (This is mainly how to best deal with office politics at a senior level).
•    How to get customers to accept that delays are due to them (if they truly are) – i.e. how to make people realise they are wrong, get them to do something about it and still get to work with them.
I am aware of most of the standard stuff on the above, I was looking more for some higher grade blow me away books on how to manage the psychology of the work place.
I know many of you have more experience then I and I was hoping you could direct me to a suitable site / book.

Thanks

Julian Jackson
Wednesday, August 25, 2004

Read "How to Win Friends and Influence People" by Dale Carnegie?

www.MarkTAW.com

Yep, many years ago. And Painless Software Management, The Mythical Man-month, and 48 Laws to Power, by Robert Green (this is the sort of book I am refering to - we know what we want - this book shows you what to do to get what you want)