Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Production/Testing Databases w/ SQL Server

Hello All,

I'm working with a new client on a web project (classic ASP).  They have two sites, a production and a development site.  All work is done to the development site and then when completed it's moved to production.

The only wrinkle they have is that they only have one database -- production.  The testing code uses the production database.  I'm already working with them on creating a testing database and using that for development.

I'm fairly new to working with SQL server.  I mostly work with PHP/MySQL on Unix platforms.  When I do this kind of work with MySQL, I generally save up the CREATE TABLE and ALTER statements I use for development so I can replay them in production to update production tables.  I also don't have to worry about stored procedures (there aren't any in MySQL).

So my question is, what's the best way to develop one database and move those changes into production?  What sorts of techniques/tools do you all use for that purpose?

Thank you!

Almost Anonymous
Thursday, August 19, 2004

Script all of your changes to the development database.  Compile together scripts that are related, so as to have fewer files.  When you're ready to move your changes into production, execute your development scripts in the Prod environment.

Works well for me.

muppet

In other words, don't ever pop into a console and type 'alter table ....'.  Script.  Everything.

This way you have a running account of all of your changes, and an easy way to reapply those changes in any environment.

muppet

For Data, create DTS package.

For structure. Create scripts, don't try to play around with commands ... life will be much easier.

Raju Patel

The MSSQL Client is your do-everything tool, all with a lovely GUI.

Consider DTS for complex data transfer work. Otherwise do your MySQL solution: save your scripts and run them in the MSSQL Query Analyzer on your production database.