Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Database help -- which is best

I am just retuning the database for my registration. Trying to save room and make these easier to read.

TABLE: License_Key
Lic_key (primary key)
Lic_type (hardcopy/online/promo)
type_ref (the primary key from the type table)

TABLE: Online_keys (keys sold online, via swreg.org)
online_ref (the primary key)

TABLE: Promo_keys (keys used for promotions)
promo_ref (the primary key)

TABLE: hardcopy_keys (keys sold as a sticker on the cd)
hardcopy_refs (the primary key)

I hope that makes sense. I am not an expert in databases (okay I am barely a beginner), and this probably really isn't that important, but it is always good to learn the right ways.

Basically each lic_key is of one type, either sold online, sold as a hardcopy, or given away as a promo.

However each type (ie promo/hardcopy/online) stores different information, so I don't want to waste room by keeping them all in the same table.

What is the best way to join the lic_key table with the other three?

I though of putting a 'lic_key' foreign key in each of the three 'type' tables. However this wouldn't work as it would be possible to have the same key in more then one table...

My idea (as seen in my table desciption) is to have a unique key in the lic_key table, made up of 'Lic_type' and 'Type_Key'. However the 'type_key' would not be able to be a proper 'foreign key' as it could be taken from any of three tables.

I thought of dropping the 'lic_type' and 'type_key' colums from the lic_key table, and instead have three columns:
online_key/promo_key/hardcopy_key which are all foreign keys from the respective tables. However doesn't work for the same reasons that my first idea didn't work.

Can anybody help?

Aussie Chick
Wednesday, August 18, 2004

>I am just retuning the database for my registration. Trying to save room and make these easier to read.