Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Why learn basic search and sort algorithms?

The post a couple posts ago about learning basic search and sort algorithms got me thinking.

I'm somewhat embarrassed to admit it (being a self-taught programmer), but in the work I've done I've never had any occasion at all to make direct use of any of the searching or sorting algorithms.  I don't deny that it would be nice to know them, or that they'd be interesting to learn, or that learning them would have some (indirectly) beneficial affect on the quality of my programming.

I have to admit, though, that given ever-present time and resource constraints I don't expect to be spending much time learning the basic search and sort algorithms. 

I just don't see where I'd want to use them.  I program database applications, mostly using Delphi, and any time that I need to perform searches or sorts they are already implemented for me as methods of whatever components or objects I'm using. 

At the level of the database itself, SQL does searches and sorts transparently to the programmer.  On a different level, I often load database data into datasets in memory.  I often search and sort those objects, but when I do I make use of searches or sorts that are already implemented within the dataset object (think ADO or ADO.NET recordsets). 

At a lower level I might have a need to sort or search an array or list of integers or strings, but even on those occasions I can load values into a basic list or stringlist object and once again the sorting and searching methods are built into the objects I'm using.