Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How to market if nobody knows me

I have submit my soft to all the download sites and now I am waiting my visa card (I have applied for it ). If I got my visa, I will pay tucows, download.net and google to do what should be done. I am studying my rivals's product to learn how to advertise. I am also writing some articles which will be post to codeguru and codeproject ( my possible soft users visit the both sites)

Now the question is what else I can do to make my soft known (now I am just nobody and my soft in same situation).

Tomorrow, should I walk into a big company and said "hi, I have a killer-app, you want to buy one copy?" ( I read an article that a Chinese company did the same thing to Ericsson lab and succeeded.)

Then how to begin if I do not want to be kicked out?
I knew nothing about how a company  buy sharewares (buy copies, not source code!)?

Another idea is that I develop some open-source tools and let those free tools advertise for me (like inno setup?)

Or I just setup a forum and post my article on the site such as http://www.redonsoftware.com?

redguardtoo
Friday, August 13, 2004

Why the hell do you keep saying 'soft' instead of 'software'.  That might make the sales process a wee bit difficult.

LH
Friday, August 13, 2004

Get a MBA in Marketing mate!

RasterBlaster
Friday, August 13, 2004

Go find Eric Sink's articles and read them.

Miles Archer
Friday, August 13, 2004

==>Then how to begin if I do not want to be kicked out?

If you can't handle rejection, then you won't be able to successfully market and sell your app. Many (most ?) of the folks you contact will simply be too busy, won't have the budget, won't care for yet another sales weenie selling them something they don't want or need, they already have one, they have a competitors product, they don't like the way you look, or the color of your shirt, or ...

You get the picture : rejection is part of the game.

Sgt. Sausage
Friday, August 13, 2004