Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Source Control -....vba??

Hi, this is probably a stupid question for all you hardcore coders.  I've had no "real" programming experience, per se.  But just recently I spent a few weeks programming in VBA.  I've heard such concepts of Source Control and Unit Tests.  (Just read a bit more about it towards VBA in a recent post)

I will lookinto VBAunit..and see what that can do for me.

My question is more towards source control for vba? or for Excel workbooks in general WITH VBA modules.  Are there programs to do this?

I pretty much just copied old versions of the workbook which contained the source code... Unfortunately I had no real documentation of what was added and such, so if I screwed something up royally.. I would just go back to a "stable" version and kinda start from scratch.

On a side note, also started reading some stuff about outlining software which is something I definitely need ot get started on :)

Anyway, thanks.

Frank
Friday, August 13, 2004

look into something called Harvest.

also, you could look into writing a macro to export your code. then check-in check-out as needed.

we have our doing things manually. it works, but very time consuming.

Patrick
Friday, August 13, 2004

You can use source control - you'll be checking in the entire Excel document.  I actually do this with SubVersion. 

The only thing to be aware of is non-VBA content.  My program references a database and populates many sheets.  I don't want this data to be part of the version control system (it's too much and it's always different).  So be sure to clear that stuff out before you check it in.

Other than that, you're set.

Lou
Friday, August 13, 2004