Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How do you destroy an ingrown fear?

I have developed an allergy to all things pointy.

I studied pointers, and simply failed to understand them. There's no other way to put this, no matter what I tried, I couldn't get it.
Eventually I learned to work with pointers, even worked with C professionally but I still dread pointers. When I hear someone mention pointers or a project in C, I shudder, going back to those days when I failed to understand them and felt horrible for it.

This is not about learning the mechanics of pointers. This is about eliminating an internal fear. How do you go about doing that?

Ogami Itto
Thursday, August 12, 2004

Forget pointers, move into management.

Learn assembly.

Just me (Sir to you)

yeah, I know what you mean.
the answer is cliché as it is true: confront your fears

for example: i hated parking my car in between 2 cars. I hit one once and felt terrible about it, becuase it had cost me so much.

everytime I come driving by, looking for a parking place I tried to look for double-space parking spots, just to be save. that's quite annoying and it takes twice the time to find a spot (usually)

well, anyway...

someday i started to intentionally look for single-space spots, to overcome my internalfear. maybe retry to park 4 times in a row. now, i like and im good at it.

ok, i hope this makes sense :)

Guyon Morée

I was good at assembly before I was exposed to C, I took to pointers like a duck to water.  The previous poster wasn't kidding, see if you can get a Z-80 emulator for a PC and learn a simple assembly language.

Snotnose

i don't get your responses. didn't he say: This is not about learning the mechanics of pointers. This is about eliminating an internal fear. How do you go about doing that

Guyon Morée

I hate parking garages and closed in stairwells.  Not the stairs, just the stairwells.