Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

What happened to my job?

A couple of months ago my manager offered me a job as an application dba and I accepted.  (I'm currently a programmer who is getting tired of writing web apps.)  This would take place when funding for the position was approved.  The manager and I were the only ones present during this discussion and she made no announcement about my upcoming change of status.  However when I got back from two week's vacation yesterday I found that she had hired a new person as the application dba.  Incidentally this new person started work on my first day of vacation.  My manager has so far said nothing concerning this change and I have just been trying to stay calm and not walk off the job.  I don't see how I can say anything about this and come out a winner.  It will all come down to he said - she said and the manager's say will naturally prevail. 

passed over
Tuesday, August 10, 2004

Regardless of whether it's he said/she said, you need to confront your manager.  When you do this, I'd be prepared to leave (easier said than done.)  You really should not leave without having something else lined up, which you probably won't be able to swing while this is all still relevant.  I'd say if you have a decent severance and/or are willing to sacrifice a bit of your 401k, you should confront them, and if things aren't resolved to your satisfaction, take off.

Failing this, start looking.  Clearly this is not a place that you should be working if the situation is as clear-cut as you have presented it.

muppet
Tuesday, August 10, 2004

No, don't confront anyone. Just ask her why she hired someone else when you thought you were lined up for the job. Maybe she's thinking of something even better for you?

Fred
Tuesday, August 10, 2004

+++No, don't confront anyone. Just ask her why she hired someone else when you thought you were lined up for the job. Maybe she's thinking of something even better for you?+++