Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Market Research

I have a few ideas for software applications. I guess they would fit into the "shrinkwrap" type. I have no idea if there are any potential customers for them. My ideas will help me personally, but I am wondering if there is a need for any one of them in the consumer market as well. In fact my ideas are not that unique. Just better executions of applications which somewhat exist. Not clones per se, but not completely brand new either...

What are my options for doing market research? I've never done one before although I did read that most of them are useless... The context was different though (namely not for software)

Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thank you!

What Can I do?
Friday, August 06, 2004

Try npd.com, they compile regular sales figures on all retail software, and give pretty thorough market reports and analyses. Typical reports are in the US $5K range, but worth it if you're serious. 

Obviously the best indicator though, are the sales figures for similar products, so you should also subscribe to that. Pretty much everyone in my industry (games) subscribe to them, and religiously follow their numbers.

Clippy
Friday, August 06, 2004

You should probably also read the chapter on Research in The Product Marketing Handbook for Software to obtain an idea of what a research program for a software product encompasses.

Friday the 6th
Friday, August 06, 2004

Try this program:

PRODUCT IDEA EVALUATOR
http://www.wilsonweb.com/art/tools/pipe_review.htm

Not perfect, but gives you an idea of:

1. How many customers are searching for a keyword (i.e., "software for managing addresses"

2. How many companies are targeting (buying traffic) for that keyword

Mr.Analogy
Friday, August 06, 2004

Friday the 6th,

Have you found "The Product Marketing Handbook for Software" to be a good and useful book?  I keep threatening to buy it, but it's not offered on Amazon, so I haven't ordered it yet.

Ewan's Dad