Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

CNN: CS School Breaks with Tradition

Article:
http://www.cnn.com/2004/TECH/08/05/programming.u.ap/index.html

I thought of this idea years ago when I realized that a standard university computer science curriculum had absolutely nothing to offer business.  At the time I wondered why someone hadn't put together a practical CS program, and thought, "Boy , I should do that." 

I, of course, realized that there was no hope of something like this happening because universities have a monopoly on prestige - and let's face it - that's the only thing universities are peddling.  I wondered at the time why the big name companies didn't use their clout and put together a program to rival the creaking old university system.  I am pleased to see that now this is happening.

Don't get me wrong.  I completely understand and agree with the counter-argument that a broader education is invaluable.  In fact, for fun, I got a philosophy degree from a top institution, and I feel I am now a more disciplined developer.  I just think that universities have had a monopoly on 'good educations' long enough. 

A traditional liberal arts education typically consists of 'courses' which are highly compartmentalized. ("Don't ask me an architecture question, this is an algorithms course, dammit!")  And typically the students are forced to sit there and listen to some droning professor lecture at them for three hours a week.  And then they're 'graded' on a midterm and a final.  (Tests?!?  Do they have anything at all to do with the real world?!?)  Maybe you're graded on projects too.  Now this model is okay - but it's not the only educational model!  I'd love to see a program where people are apprentices.  Where you learn hands on like a carpenter does.  Where you learn theoretical underpinnings of CS by proving each theorem yourself instead reading it in a crappy textbook or hearing it lectured at you by some talking head.