Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

BSxx on campus recruitment

If there are any students on the JoS forum, I'm curious as to how things are going for kids graduating with Bachelors of Science degrees in CS, EE, Math or other fertile software fields are going?

Is it hard to get interviews? Are there lots of companies interviewing on campuse these days? Does that degree guarantee your employment?

There was a time when it almost did guarantee a good career (back in my youth), but how are things now?

Thanks,

hoser
Saturday, July 31, 2004

When I graduated from engineering school in 1980 the more aggressive kids in my class had 5-7 offers in hand.

I was pretty laid back (typical engineering nerd type) and I had four offers in hand at graduation with almost no effort.

Bored Bystander
Saturday, July 31, 2004

[Philo checks watch, shakes it]

Is it 1980 again already? Damn...

Philo

Philo
Saturday, July 31, 2004

I've got a BSCS from a state college. 

There were 0 companies interviewing on campus last semester of school.  There were 2 internship positions posted and they were fought over by students from other schools also I'm sure.  I don't know who got the positions.  The school has already employed students from previous years some are doing research on grants while others are teaching but they can only employ so many.  The guys (At the school) who maintain the network etc... won't give up their jobs heh, who can blame em.

At the job fairs that I attended there were usually two or three companies interested in taking my resume but they didn't seem to go much further than that.

Does it guarantee a job or a career?  I don't think a degree ever really guaranteed you anything.  The demand for the service you can provide at the time you get your degree is what counts and right now the demand for entry level CS degree does not seem to be that high.