Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Employment in the 3d graphics industry.

Hi JoS readers,

I was wondering if any of you guys was familiar with the job requirements and working conditions in the 3d industry - not computer or video games.

I'm currently enrolled in a CompEng masters program, which I should complete in April of next year. I've taken most graphics courses in my uni when I was an undergrad, and about four months in my masters (in January) I started developing a global illumination renderer, basically implementing popular non real time rendering algorithms such as ray tracing, path tracing and photon mapping. My program has grown fairly big (upwards of 8,000 lines of code, excluding blank lines and comments) and I should release it on sourceforge very soon. I've learned a lot in the process, and even though my masters subject has nothing to do with 3d graphics, I'm seriously considering it as a career option when I'm done with school. I've read many books on the subject as well, and more general books like Code Complete 2, to develop my programming abilities. I'm very satisfied with this experience and think it has made me a much better programmer, and even though I'm not a guru I focus on learning as much as I can.

I want to include this project on my resume when I start looking for a job. I was wondering how well this would be received at development companies in the field, and what would be your suggestions to improve my chances in that regard.

What do software companies look for in a program, demo or code sample submitted by an applicant? What about general software engineering and development? Do companies value constant learning, based not only on coding experience, but also reading opinions of experts on these subjects? I ask this because my learning style is very much academic, i.e. I tend to learn as much as possible from other people's mistakes rather than my own, by reading books, visiting places such as JoS, or Sink's weblog, etc.