Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How do pople get thier first job?

Most jobs seem to require 3+ years of experience. How do people get thier first job?

* Writing programs on your own.
* Starting out in testing and debugging and slowly making your way up the ladder.

Other?

Iuknown
Thursday, July 29, 2004

Canvass. Interview. Hire.

;-)

TheGeezer
Thursday, July 29, 2004

I learned how to program on my own, when I was a bench tech.  I started writing code at work to exercise the hardware.  Engineering found out about it and drafted me.

Of course, I learned Z-80 assembler, used 8080 at work, and this was 25 years ago when few people knew what a microprocessor was, let alone assembly.

Snotnose
Thursday, July 29, 2004

If you have a degree in Computer Science, with a good GPA (3.5 or higher).  You shouldn't have too much of a problem with just sending in your resume to large software companies and attending career fairs.

If not then try to find an entry level tech job at a big company and work your way up, or even better work your way through school and get a better job when you graduate.

Craig H
Thursday, July 29, 2004

I'm sure your school has an employment office. The companies that go there are by definition looking for entry-level, so that's probably the best place to start.

Rob
Thursday, July 29, 2004

>How do people get thier first job?

Actually the first one is the easiest because one does not have many expectations (excepting the crazy dot com era ofcourse!) .

It is just  that not many people advertise these jobs directly.

Look for internships....look for volunteer work...go meet some people at user groups anyplace where you can showcase your enthuthiasm and skills in a low key manner.