Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Learning Curve for a New Grad

I got my degree (B. Sc, Comp Sci) about 3 months ago and am still looking for some sort of development job but it hasn't been looking great so far.

Most the job ads I see want something like 3+ years experience, but it doesn't look like theres a lot for fresh grads right now, at least in Canada.

So I'm curious,  how much did people, who have been working in the industry for awhile already learn in their first couple years of their first development job?

Does it require skill and smarts  that is orders of magnitude above finishing University or is it still just that much of an employers market still? 

Any suggestions on how to break this no experience, no job cycle, or at least get someone to take a chance on me?

Also does anyone think the entry level end of the market is going to reappear anytime soon?

Randy
Thursday, July 29, 2004

Work on interesting projects and add them to your CV.

Thursday, July 29, 2004

> So I'm curious,  how much did people, who have been working in the industry for awhile already learn in their first couple years of their first development job?

I learned a lot (but my degree was Maths, so I knew little about computers before I started work ... just some BASIC).

> Does it require skill and smarts  that is orders of magnitude above finishing University or is it still just that much of an employers market still?

It requires team-work; also exposure to technologies that you may not have learned to use at University.

> Also does anyone think the entry level end of the market is going to reappear anytime soon?

Some companies at least still hire temporary interns/summer students who haven't graduated yet.

Christopher Wells
Thursday, July 29, 2004