Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Book Recommendations on Software Effort Estimation

I am nearly 4 yrs experienced in this field as a developer. I am going to start estimation for some projects.
I have never done this before.

any book recommendations on effort estimation for a beginner are helpful.

developer going to be analyst
Sunday, July 25, 2004

Well, you can start by reading Joel's articles on the subject.

There is a decent article on the subject at my blog.

Then you have Steve McConnell's books.

Ready...set...go!  ;)

www.ChristopherHawkins.com
Sunday, July 25, 2004

Search this forum. There are plenty of links relating to this subject.

Here's a recent thread:

http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=166394&ixReplies=13

TheGeezer
Sunday, July 25, 2004

Estimate = Wildest Guess * 3

Craig
Monday, July 26, 2004

You forgot the "And bump up to the next unit of time."

If you think two days, say six weeks.

Chris Tavares
Monday, July 26, 2004

craig you are a joker

be serious
Monday, July 26, 2004

I thought you work it out by doubling your initial estimate, then double again because your superiors will insist on getting things done in half the estimated time.

PDF
Monday, July 26, 2004

Hmm.  Fundamentally, you are trying to answer the question "When will it be done", right?

A) Clarify what "IT" means.  First, are the specs complete?  Correct? 

Do you know my experience that you will encounter scope creep?

Have you done similar projects before?

This should give you some impression of the "Shit, I forgot ..." factor.  We'll call this X, and score it from 0.25 to 4.  (0.25 = we know what's going on, 4 = We Have No Clue, expect the unexpected.)

B) Clarify what "Done" means.  Code Complete?  Throughly tested?  Tested and Bug-Free?  (Or "No major issues"?)  Documentation Complete?  Burned to CD?  Shipped to the customer?  In production?  Etc.  Consider the things you are likely to forget when making the schedule.