Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Thinking outside the box

I'm a junior developer that has had several code walk-throughs with a more senior (and brilliant) staff member over the two years I've spent at this company. Oftentimes, he comes up with an alternate algorithm that is simple, elegant, and, well, better than mine. Does anyone have suggestions on how I can train myself to 'think outside the box' when creating an algorithm? For example, are there specific questions you ask yourself while in the process?

Natty
Friday, July 23, 2004

There are many resources (online and books) that discuss algorithms and design patterns.

However, be careful to avoid the trap of "premature optimization", however tempting it may seem.

Nemesis
Friday, July 23, 2004

He's not "thinking outside the box".  It's just that his box is way bigger than yours because he has more experience and skills.

One thing you can do is get some mentoring time with him.  Ask him questions or pick his brain over lunch, go through design sessions with him, sit down with him and do some pair programming.  Whatever it takes.  The idea being to learn to think more like he does and to absorb some of the wisdom he's accumulated over the years.

Should be working
Friday, July 23, 2004

Practice, Practice, Practice!

If I look at code I wrote 2 years ago (or even six months ago), I'm often appalled.  On more than one occasion, I've even stood up and said, "Who wrote method XYZ? It's complete crap."  Only to sheepishly slink away when I found out that the moron who wrote it was an unenlightend me.

Brian
Friday, July 23, 2004

A lot of it is attitude. Some people look at a problem, try to think how they've solved a similar problem before, and charge forward (the old, "we've always done it this way").

Tom H
Friday, July 23, 2004