Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Change management for small teams

I've been working solo for nearly 30 years and all of my projects have been pretty small stuff. Now I'm working on larger projects (but still pretty small, really) and there is another person involved. Failure to proprerly coordinate our activities is merely an annoyance now, but is likely to prove disastrous if not dealt with quickly. I don't think that this is as simple as using a version control system, but I could be wrong.

I work on all but one of our systems and am having good luck keeping everything I do under control using SourceSafe and Visible Developer. So far anyway :) The other person works on the other system (AutoCAD drawing management, bills of material, etc.). We've now reached the point where we're starting to consume each other's data so we need to put processes (and software?) in place to deal with this. (For example, a few days ago, one person dropped a field, which broke the other person's import routine, which led to a whole class of reports failing.)

I have a pretty good idea of what kinds of things need to be done: Neither of us should make a change without consulting the other; both of us should keep track of what fields, etc. we're using and where, and probably other stuff, too. Obviously there are processes used by those who manage large-scale systems that apply even to the lightweight stuff we're doing. The problem, as I see it, is that these processes look 'heavier' than our project(s).

We've got stuff in Access, Excel, and SQLServer, but everything will eventually be in just SQLServer. We use everything from VBA to .NET, but are trying get as much as possible moved to .NET. I suspect that life will be easier once all the migration is complete, but right now it looks like all the dependency tracking has to take place outside the systems.

Any tips or pointers are appreciated, including terms so that I can actually go search for something.

Ron Porter