Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Shell Scripting Fanatics

I manage a team of developers, and two of them, UNIX types, who swear by shell scripts (ksh, tc, etc.). They shun more formal programming languages (Java, Perl), frameworks and tools, claiming that these should only be used if the scripts reveal bottlenecks.

As a manager, I'm trying to get a handle on their zeal, and get a handle on the pros/cons of their approach. They're clashing with the rest of the team. Maybe it's an issue of programming style (bottom-up v. top-down), but at this point I'm seriously considering dumping them.

Can anyone point me to significant applications that have been written in shell scripts alone, i.e. not in a general purpose programming language?

Bananas Foster
Wednesday, July 21, 2004

I've done parts of an Oracle Application with UNIX shell scripts, but just parts ofcourse.

I use shell scripts when its more efficient with regards to development time to do so. For mundane tasks like parsing text files and such shell scripting is more efficient than C.

So these scripts uses awk, sed and friends to do their parsing and loads the data into a DB. However I would not use scripts for anything more advanced than this.

Used in the right places shell scripts are your friends and saves you time, compared to development in a more formal language like C or whatever.

Patrik
Wednesday, July 21, 2004

Shell scripts - so ugly. I cringe inwardly every time I see something like echo `expr $x + $y` - you mean you're running a separate binary just to add two numbers together? - but some people are set in their ways and love them as they embody that UNIX ethos of patching together lots of little programs to do a job. Lucky you having to keep the things maintainable, heh

Matt
Wednesday, July 21, 2004