Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

software vs program

i'm a lecturer in computer science and recently i was challenged by a student who asked the difference between a software and a program. i managed to juggle up all the terms and jugons i know to confuse and convince him, but the truth is can someone explain the clear cut difference?

curious
Monday, July 19, 2004

Softwear is like panties.

A pogram is when they kill a bunch of people.

Dennis Atkins
Monday, July 19, 2004

Same as the difference between a computer science lecturer and an idiot

Monday, July 19, 2004

Software is an uncountable noun - you can't have 'a software'.
Programs are countable.
So software is made up of programs, just as matter is made up of particles.

Stephen Jones
Monday, July 19, 2004

A program is a set of instructions which follow a certain logic to carry out a certain task (or group of tasks).

How easy to change this program is what brings the terms like Software, Firmware, Hardware, blah blah. Also, the smallest unit of instruction is also different for each. Statement, Opcode, Transistor, etc.

Anon
Monday, July 19, 2004

Software <--> system
Program  <--> an executable file.

That's how i misunderstand it.

Michael Moser
Monday, July 19, 2004

The Wikipedia entry for this is excellent:

= Computer Software =
Computer software (or simply software) is a collection of programs and data held in the storage of a computer for some purpose. Software can implement a computer program; such software performs the function of the program it implements, either by directly providing instructions to the computer hardware or by serving as input to another piece of software. On the other hand, software sometimes consists only of data purely for the use of other software.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software

= Computer program =
A computer program (often simply called a program) is an artefact that describes computations and/or actions that are to be carried out by a computer.