Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Is the one-page resume dead?

In response to a recently job posting, we got a number of resumes, and none of them were in the "classic" one page format (almost all of them were terrible, but that's another story). This was for a senior software engineer position, so people with over 5 years of experience.

I've got three years of experience at my current job, plus a student developer job I had in college and an open source project on my resume. I always try to keep my resume one page, which limits the amount of stuff that I can put on there.

After seeing these resumes -- though most people had a few more years of experience than I do -- I'm wondering if the one page resume is dead. What do JoS readers think? Is your resume multiple pages?

Luke
Friday, July 16, 2004

That seems to be the trend, for better or worse.  A recruiter I visited recently said that my 2 page resume (with about 7 years experience) was far too short.  She wanted it doubled, at least, listing any little technology I'd thought about in each position.

Ian Olsen
Friday, July 16, 2004

My resume is now three pages and covers about 20 independent projects and four full time positions prior to the independent work: a span of 20 years.  A very experienced peer instructed me in compressing my own resume: his is just 2 pages.

I think the vogue for single page resumes is a PHB and HR thing. If you're applying for a technology job and you're at the senior level, one page only lets you put down highly generalized summaries, but most companies recruiting for tech jobs *want* to see specific line item experience. "Generalized" is what executives and managers "do". Specific is what engineers and developers "do".

I think the key to a good resume is to summarize concisely and to use meaningful categories to "compress" redundant information.  The worst resumes are the ones where the candidate has no clue about summarizing.

Bored Bystander
Friday, July 16, 2004