Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Perl CGI

Is there a lot of Perl CGI scripting going on nowadays?  It seems very cumbersome to me, but I've only written one application so far.

anon
Thursday, July 15, 2004

Funny, I find Perl CGI to be the most agile of many web scripting options.  I usually fall back on it when it's taking to long to solve a problem in another language.

muppet
Thursday, July 15, 2004

Cumbersome how? Compared to what? I find it incredibly easy to build productive Web functionality quickly using Perl CGI, but that might just be a function of experience and familiarity.

John C.
Thursday, July 15, 2004

********* WARNING *********
These are my humble, humble
opinions, and are therefore
not flame bait!

>> "Cumbersome how? Compared to what?"

I'd rather use PHP or JSP or ASP or something like that.  It seems really messy to me that my code has to generate the HTML.  I'd rather just make an HTML file and fill in the blanks with the scripting.

But I'm new to web development!

Also, what's the big whoop with scripting languages?  Does it really save people so much time not having to declare variables & types?  I like strong typing.  In the end it saves much more of my time. 

anon
Thursday, July 15, 2004

CGI (in the traditional sense) just isn't a good platform to write whole web apps on, as the webserver has to launch a separate process for each CGI request.

So in that sense not many people are writing CGI apps, let alone Perl CGI ones. Rather using modules built into the webserver like mod_perl, mod_php4, mod_python etc. Or FastCGI which is subtly different to vanilla CGI. The only time I really see Perl CGI being used is things like formmail.pl and that really ancient message board script whose name I forget. Essentially slightly dated bolt-on interactive bits for static sites.