Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

.Net devs that went to Java and won't go back?

I meet a *lot* of former Java devs doing .Net. Former as in "I'm not going back" - they have issues with the language, the IDEs (plural, and spoken with scorn), with broken frameworks, etc.

Obviously, in my line of work, those are the people I'm likely to meet. :-)

I'm curious - do we have people here who have delivered .Net apps, but left .Net for Java and now wouldn't go back if they were paid to? What are the reasons for disliking .Net?

Philo

Philo
Wednesday, July 14, 2004

I hear a lot of folks comment that .NET gets everything right that Java gets wrong, but I'm not yet knowlegable in .NET to make a jugement.  I'm still learning C#

muppet
Wednesday, July 14, 2004

I've used both, and they're both tools. I think .NET is a better all around toolset for the work that I do compared to Java. I would be fine being paid to write either one. I'd prefer to be paid to write Ruby. ;)

Brad Wilson (dotnetguy.techieswithcats.com)
Wednesday, July 14, 2004

Make .NET run better on *NIX servers damn it.  There is no cross platform story for .NET from Microsoft, although I give the mono guys a lot of credit.

As a developer I like .NET (except for value types and boxing (ack) ).

As an admin I hate that I am stuck on Windows and IIS.  Why do you still have to do most of your admining through the UI?  Plus I still don't trust its security.  I've just been burned once too many times by IIS.  Plus kernel mode HTTP --  what crack addict came up with that idea? 

christopher (baus.net)
Wednesday, July 14, 2004

From 1997 up until last year I had been developing in Java. I really like the language from an OO perspective but in my current gig I'm developing in .Net (mixture of C# and VB.Net).

Would I go back to Java. Absolutely - I have barely any complaints with it.