Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

dis-improving

I have about 10 years of programming experience and have been at this job for 3 years. The first 2 years my performance reviews were very good and my manager didn't seem to have any problems with me. There were never any major complaints about anything I did.
Last year he was promoted and his responisbilities greatly increased. He didn't pay much attention to me, but I mostly knew what I was suppsed to be doing and just continued working as usual.
A couple of months ago, out of nowhere, he had a private meeting with me and said he was not satisfied with my work. It was a complete shock. I asked why my reviews had been good, and he said it was to justify having hired me. I reminded him that most of my projects had gone well and that I seldom made mistakes. He mentioned very minor things as evidence that I am no good. I asked if he was trying to get rid of me so he could hire someone he thinks is better, and he said no. I asked why he wants me to stay if I'm no good, and his answer was that our department does not like to fire people.
Since then, I have been trying to make sense of this. This manager is very tempermental, and was probably just having a bad day and needed to take it out on someone. Maybe his boss had yelled at him for something and he needed a scapegoat.
I am absolutely certain that I get better every year. It's absurb to think I was good a year ago and now I'm no good.
Maybe I'm taking this all to seriously, but now I hate going to work. I expect him to start raging at me over nothing. The only positive is that most of the time he has other priorities and doesn't even know what I'm doing.
Does this sound like something that might blow over? Or could something have happened I don't know anything about that made him suddenly turn against me?