Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Go west, young man!

All,

how's the embedded job market on the west coast, specifically, California? I'm located on the East Coast and looking to move there. My background is in embedded C/C++, telecom, wireless. My brief job search indicated that most jobs are in government and require security clearance. Is it really so? How's the Silicon Valley doing these days?

I appreciate any insights/pointers! :)

Floridian
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

Along the same path of the OP's question, how is life in San Diego?  I think I'd like to live there, but I here it is very expensive and it is hard to find engineering jobs there...

Anyone currently living in San Diego? Please respond.

Thank you!

sun
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

Yes, San Diego is very expensive (500k average house price), and hard to find high-paying jobs.

sir_flexalot
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

What´s embedded C/C++?
Does it have anything to do with Pro*C?
Sorry to ask...
It´s cause I hear the term all the time.

Ronaldo 9
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

The valley is recovering --- SLOWLY.  Like the rest of the economy.  Find something first, then come, otherwise you could be waiting on tables like an out of work actor.

As for security clearance, this is handled in a several ways:
1. You have it and that is real good - consider yourself +5 with employability on secure contracts.
2. The company hires you, keeps you out of secret stuff until you get clearance.  It used to be (pre-9/11) about 90 days.  I can't image what it takes today
3. The company hires you, isolates the work and keeps you out of the secure stuff.  This does happen, but #2 is more likely.  The problem is that someone has to make a judgement call on where to draw the line.  Being wrong can be a federal crime.

As for the obvious question: "Can I get security clearance myself?"  - The simple answer is no.    This is one of those catch-22 situations.  In order to get a clearance you need to need a clearance.