Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

How are file formats reverse engineered?

I am curious to know how proprietory file formats are reverse engineered. For example, Wordperfect seems to open a microsoft document quite nicely although the Doc format is proprietory and ms does not reveal it. Ditto for microsoft word opening wordperfect. Adobe acrobat is another example. Though PDF is propretory, many other companies have cropped up which can convert , for instance Word documents to PDF .

Can anyone give a laymans explanation on how it is actually done? I am an application developer working on databases and as such have little knowledge of these things.

Karthik
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

Create a blank file in the source application. Save it. Look at it in a Hex editor.

Create a new file in the source application. Type a single 'A'. Save it. Look at it in a hex editor.

Make the 'A' boldface. Save.

etc. ad nauseum. It's like solving a puzzle; it's never really hard since you can generate all the test data you need, but very exacting and time consuming.

Chris Tavares
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

I would imagine most of the text in a Word Doc is stored in standard RTF format and it's probably precisely those parts that aren't that will most likely break in a third party app - complex formulas, embedding, tables, etc.

Doesn't Open Office work with MS Office documents? Ask them.

www.MarkTAW.com
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

http://www.wotsit.org

Alpha Release Male
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

There's some good info on this in the Jakarta POI project, an open source effort to provide a Java API for Microsoft file formats.

The Microsoft office file native format is incredibly complex, actually.  Some of it has been documented by Microsoft, some of it was figured out the hard way.

http://jakarta.apache.org/poi

Will
Wednesday, July 07, 2004

how long do you think until someone uses the DMCA as a protection against having its formats reverse engineered?

FullNameRequired