Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Being Researched

Yes, the PhD student again…

I’ve been reading this forum for 7 weeks now and I am very much engaged with it.  To summarise, I am doing a PhD in Software Development from the point of view of management/business.  I started some conversations last month with very interesting and helpful replies.
http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=144731&ixReplies=12
http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=147094&ixReplies=9
http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=150306&ixReplies=21

I do thank all of you who shared your opinions with me.

I have been lurking this and other forums to update myself with the current and fashionable issues in the development world.  I believe that all the material posted provides a good opportunity for research. 

As my PhD is within the social sciences I am focusing on people’s opinions on issues- I.e. software development.  From the discussions here, what I am trying to do is gathering some information that I would like to reflect on in my thesis.  It is not only the replies to my posts that I would like to use but maybe information from other threads in which I don’t participate.

I would like to ask you all and Joel if there is any impediment to do so, including your own opinions.  I do not intend to make direct reference to any of you.  If so, I will ask you first. I do this as I think it is ethical to do so.
What do you think?

Cecilia Loureiro-Koechlin
c.loureiro-koechlin@mgt.hull.ac.uk

Cecilia Loureiro
Tuesday, July 06, 2004

You want to refer to posts written on this message board but you don't want to credit the authors with the posts?  Is this actually an academic project?

Kalani
Tuesday, July 06, 2004

Kalani,

Yes, it is an academic project. A PhD project to be precise.

Maybe my post wasn’t that clear.