Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

yet another thread on hiring stupidity

So I'm back in the job market.

First phone interview, I am asked how my vi skills are. I say that when I'm on a unix system I use emacs and don't care for vi. "Sorry, the job requires vi skills."

So much for that interview. And I was talking to the project manager who is a programmer! Why should he care whether I use vi or emacs?

OK, second inteview:

"You're hired! here is our offer!"

"Are you kidding me? That is 1/3 what I made in my last job!"

"Times are tough. These jobs don't pay what they used to."

"Well I can't accept that offer, there is surely some mistake."

"There's nothing we can do. Since you just graduated from college, you only qualify for rung 1 one of our pay ladder."

"No, actually although I just got a Masters Degree while I was working. My original Bachelors is from 11 years ago and I have 13 years of professional development experience during which I have published several articles and obtained three patents."

"I'm sorry, but he pay rate is dependent on your current status which is that you just graduated less than a year ago. We only consider work experience since after you got your degree."

(Sigh.)

Phillip Watkins
Monday, July 05, 2004

I think in both cases you should have tried a little harder.

First job:

Ask "Why is vi important?"

Find out if vi is a proxy for Unix experience.

If they use vi as an engine for text transformation, then it may be important to know it.

Second job:

Well, you were talking with HR, almost certainly. If so it is up to you to be sure they understand your situation.

Go back to the manager who interviewed you and explain the situation.

That's if you really wanted either of those jobs.

dot for this one
Monday, July 05, 2004