Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Solaris guidance needed

Hello all --

I've been tasked with deploying heavy-hitter software like Oracle 9i on a new Sun V210.  Right now the box is running Solaris 8.  We've purchased Solaris 9, and one of my preliminary tasks is to get that installed and running.

Here's the problem:  I'm an applications programmer, not an admin.  Sure, I've worked with Solaris, doing mundane-every-day kinda stuff, but I don't know how to tackle these problems -- there's no cd-rom, and none of our X86 machines will read the sparc software so even a network install is out.  There's no video hardware in the box, so the X server won't start.  No X server, no GUI, hence no Oracle Universal Installer, therefore no Oracle.  Need I mention that we have no support contract with Sun (don't ask) and that viddy/cdrom purchases are not going to happen.  I tried RTFM, only 1) I don't have a  printed FM and 2) those I downloaded from Sun are actually inaccurate.

So: I'm not a complete idiot, but damn close to one.        Can anyone reccomend resources for someone who knows *nix system usage in general to ramp up quickly to serious admin tasks?  In particular I'd like an explanation of the Openwin system on Solaris 8 and 9.

Any help is much appreciated...

horace
Friday, July 02, 2004

Would it be possible to rip the CD to an image using one of the X86 boxes, transfer the image to the Solaris box over the network, and mount it there?  Even though the X86 box can't read the sparc file system on the CD, I'd imagine it could still rip the bits...

Joe
Friday, July 02, 2004

Oh...also...it's been a while since I've used a *nix platform, so I could be missing something here, but I'd think your lack of video card problem could be solved by something like XWin32 or another remote desktop solution?

Joe
Friday, July 02, 2004