Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Technical book publishers

O'Reilly seems to be a consensus favorite as far as technical book publishers go. Can anyone recommend any others? Any opinions on Apress, Sams or Wrox?

Anonymous Developer
Monday, June 28, 2004

I don't like O'Reilley myself - the books are too dry and they never flow well. So they got cutesy animals on the cover. Big deal.

Addison-Wessely is the best for high level stuff.

Then I like those hefty SAMS books as references. If I need to learn something, they pack the largest number of facts per pound around without being obtuse. Also, you can start reading on any page at random and find something you didn't know.

Dennis Atkins
Monday, June 28, 2004

I dislike the Sams books.  I started learning from Wrox books and then picked up a few O'Reillys.  I know what you mean about them being dry, but there's a few gems mixed in.  The Learning Java book is particularly good.

O'Reillys are really only useful once you already have a firm foundation in programming.  And even then, like you said, many are dry and tedious.  But not all!

muppet from forums.madebymonkeys.net
Monday, June 28, 2004

O'Reilly and Addison-Wesley are the only consistently top notch publishers. Much of what MS Press and Apress puts out is high quality. The rest are ... distrust until proven otherwise. Wrox was the worst. Sams is pretty much always crap. (No offense to individual authors, who can have unique experiences obviously.)

Brad Wilson (dotnetguy.techieswithcats.com)
Monday, June 28, 2004