Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

SWT is hot!

Eclipse 3.0 is just out, and boy, does it bring some changes. While SWT used to be an immature technology, now it has grown and matured. The widgets look complete and stable. It's now possible to mix lightweight and responsive SWT widgets along with the good old Swing widgets (although, after thinking about it, I don't see why would anyone want to do that, but it's a Good Thing, marketing wise).

With the exception of developer tools, I have never seen Swing apps on the wild, and the few I saw were ugly, clunky and unresponsive. Imagine what won't change with SWT.

And if you're like me, you just want Java for it's syntax and don't give a damn about WORA, you can always compile your java apps with gcj and produce a standalone windows .exe.

Let me give you an example that I've had kicking around my head since last night: I'm a server side java developer who's been having an idea for an app for the past few months. Build the UI in SWT and using JNI I would tune the tricky parts in C (remember that WORA is out). Since I don't want the user to install the JVM, I'd compile it with GCJ and voilá!

Sorry, this seems so good I had to share it. Flame at will.

RP
Monday, June 28, 2004

This is the link that inspired me:
http://www.cs.umanitoba.ca/~eclipse/

RP
Monday, June 28, 2004

Ok, I'm a Java n00b, so... what's wrong with Swing?

muppet from madebymonkeys.net
Monday, June 28, 2004

>Ok, I'm a Java n00b, so... what's wrong with Swing?

Well nothing really, it is just hard to grok and it doesn't look-n-feel like native. And if you haven't groked swing and write applications in it the applications ends up feeling very sluggish!

MyNameIsSecret();
Monday, June 28, 2004

Swing is great.  Try JGoodies if you want it to look nice.  Learn how to program it and don't expect the toolkit to optimize your code.

name withheld out of cowardice
Monday, June 28, 2004

who expects their tool to optimize their code?  Seriously?