Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Am I a Java or C++ programmer

First job out of school - VC++/MFC desktop scientific 3D application.
second job - C++ and java work
Third job - java server side work
In interviews people ask me are you a C++ programmer or are you a Java programmer?
I say I'm a software developer, then they classify me as a jack of all trades and throw my application out.
How can I Convinve them if I can do both, it's a plus?

Anon
Wednesday, June 23, 2004

Who are they hiring?

If Java developers, say, "I like the power and control of C++, but love the flexibility and OO-nature of Java..."  Then blather in animated fashion on Struts, MVC, JDBC or similar topic...

If C++ developers, say, "I enjoy the flexibility and managed-memory of Java, but love the control, power and speed of C++..."  Then blather on about display contexts, bit-blits, etc....

IOW, tailor the answer...

http://badblue.com/blog
Wednesday, June 23, 2004

"I can be anything I want to be."

The Pretender
Wednesday, June 23, 2004

You wouldn't want to work there anyway. They got a nasty attitude problem IMHO.

MyNameIsSecret();
Wednesday, June 23, 2004

Being a Systems Engineer, who started out in hardware, then transitioned to software, I can walk both sides of the street.  I can take a systems perspective, assigning functionality to the hardware or software side as appropriate.

However, if I am not careful I can confuse the HR (human resources) types also.  A confused HR person is an unhappy HR person.  They want the right buzz-word, with high-quality.  Their confusion indicates to them that you are not what they want, and out you go.  (Yes, the logic of that last sentence is odd.  However, that's how it goes.)

I agree with your reluctance to be labeled one or the other.  "I'm a C++ Programmer!" or "I'm a Java Programmer!".    It sounds to me like you are both, have a year or two experience in both, and can build quality systems in either one.