Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Multiple sandboxes in VSS - how?

OK, I'm new to VSS (Previous jobs have been CVS). In CVS I was always able to have multiple sandboxes on the same code by simply checking out to a new directory. How do I do the same thing in VSS? I know I can set the working directory, but will that really do the right thing? I want to have two sandboxes, both live, with seperate checkouts in each one. Is there a way to do this? The VSS version is 6.0c, if that matters.

The only other person here who seems to have wanted to do this just works by #ifdefing the changes. I REALLY don't want to do that, as I feel it pollutes the change I want to check in.

Any tips, pointers, etc would be helpful.

Thanks!

Michael Kohne
Monday, June 21, 2004

Last used VSS 3 years ago or so, but if I recall correctly you're better off branching (well, that lame excuse that VSS has for branches anyway - pinning & sharing) unless you use the command line exclusively.

And if you're using VS6, DO NOT connect the project to VSS before you've branched, or you're going to have a lot of fun committing changes to the wrong branch until the end of time. Don't know about VS.NET

I haven't tried it myself yet, but if you're feeling very adventurous and brave, you might want to experiment with VCP <http://public.perforce.com/public/revml/index.html> - it's supposed to be able to bi-directionally synchronize a VSS repository and a CVS one (and a perforce one, and a subversion one)

Ori Berger
Monday, June 21, 2004

Here is a pointer. If you use a VS6 you must go over your DSW :s and DSP:s to see that they check in/out the files in the right place!

MyNameIsSecret();
Monday, June 21, 2004

Good God Man.  Stay away from VSS.

I used CVS for years and although the command line of it sucks, there are numerous great clients.  Then I get to VSS.  Arg.

I'm trying to convince the group to convert to Subversion, but it's going painfully slow....

KC
Monday, June 21, 2004