Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Byte shift

As a certified noob, I never quite understood the byte shift scene. What is a byte shift? Why do you do it? Why do you want to do it? Where and how do you use it, in real life?

Any charitable soul who helps me, shall be deemed a saint.

noob
Monday, June 21, 2004

Is it byte shift or bit shift?

MyNameIsSecret();
Monday, June 21, 2004

Thanks for confusing me a bit further. I needed that.

noob
Monday, June 21, 2004

You are really a noob arent you. A byte is eight bits. A bit is either one or zero. All numbers in the computer are formed from bits. So a byte can represent any number from 0 to 255. Still confused?

MyNameIsSecret();
Monday, June 21, 2004

Where does the shift part enter?

noob
Monday, June 21, 2004

when you bit shift you just move the bits right or left. When you move the bits around due to the construction of the binary it is the same as you would divide or multiply with two. It is alot faster to move the bits around than you would actually do calculation. Usages for this are usually when you like to fiddle with the bits. The most I used it for was to reorder bytes from differents types of computers(little-endian to big-endian).

MyNameIsSecret();
Monday, June 21, 2004

To make the confusion worse (-8  : an octet is 8 bits. A byte is usually 8 bits, bit it can also be 6, 7, or 9 nine bits, this being machine-dependant.

Karel Thönissen (www.hello.nl)
Monday, June 21, 2004

Karel, that is not nice. LOL.

MyNameIsSecret();
Monday, June 21, 2004

The shift part is e.g. for when you need to access parts of bytes (or words), or to assemble a word from different parts.

Let's take RGB color values for example: they are often stored as a number consisting of four bytes as follows: 0x00bbggrr. To assemble the color out if its components, you can use the RGB() macro which uses shifts:

#define RGB(r, g ,b)  ((DWORD) (((BYTE) (r) | ((WORD) (g) << 8)) | (((DWORD) (BYTE) (b)) << 16)))

In other words, you