Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Why does the "bloat" have to continue?

Way back in the '80's, I remember being irritated, as a user/gamer, that the Sierra, et al., went through a long interactive install routine, configured the game according to your/its responses/findings, and then went and stuck every driver to every known machine on your machine, anyway.  Now as a developer, I have tools that sometimes take a full 1Gb of space. Lots of us complain about bloatware, and generally rightfully so, but will there ever be a way for a program to never "download or install anything until it's needed"? Mozilla's Firefox and Thunderbird may be a small step in the right direction, but could "web services" or somesuch really be used as a, say, namespace for only using s/w when needed, and, say, after XX days, returning the s/w via, say, "remote garbage collection" to get stuff off one's h/d that is rarely, if ever used?  Ideas?
Lao Xuesheng
ps. "Back then", a 33Mb drive was paradise, too. Maybe this question is just OBE with the huge and inexpensive drives out these days, but with music and video making their moves, maybe this will become an issue, again.)

Lao Xuesheng
Friday, June 18, 2004

Microsoft was originally going to have that feature on XP, that it would first compress software not used recently, then automatically uninstall it if it wasn't used in a long time. But test groups hated it, so they'd probably be against a web scheme like that for the same reasons.

Rick
Friday, June 18, 2004

will there ever be a way for a program to never "download or install anything until it's needed"?

Office works this way - if you customize the install, you can pick the options you want installed. The installed footprint ranges between something like 150MB and 450MB depending on the options you pick.

You can do the same thing with VS.Net.