Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Getting "out of the dark"

Right now I'm just learning ASP with VBScript (bleh; I'm used to C syntax).  I've worked with PHP/MySQL somewhat in the past, but the current project uses ASP/VB, so that's what I'm learning/working with.

I'm still in the middle of the learning curve, and I would love to hear your advice for which direction to go in. 

Here's the problem:  I have solid understanding of programming basics (variables, loops etc., functions), but little-to-no understanding of more complex things (methods, classes, objects).  These are little more than buzzwords to me.

So far, my plan has been to forge ahead, Googling as necessary to get the job done.  However, I'd really like to get "out of the dark" and feel as comfortable with all those buzzwords as I am with, say, While loops. 

But I can only think of two options:
1. Keep forging ahead, trusting that I'll learn these things as necessary.  Pro: Keeps me on task, spending time doing the work rather than learning what I might not immediately need.  Con: feels like stumbling around in the dark when I need something more complex than what I really know.

2. Buy a good book or two and digest them.  Pro: more in-depth explanation of topics.  Con:  Book may not be talking about whatever I'm dealing with, making the learning academic and inefficient. 

There's probably a third (or fourth) option I'm not thinking of.  Is there a best way to learn these advanced concepts apart from the university?  How did you get "out of the dark"?

Thanks again for your thoughts.

wanna be a programmer when I grow up
Friday, June 18, 2004

practive makes perfect.

Take a class, read a book, write programs. You just have to do.

Sassy
Friday, June 18, 2004

Try having a little look into Bruce Eckel's Thinking In Java. It is online for free at :
http://www.mindview.net/Books/TIJ/