Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Will Oracle be my breakthrough?

Hi Peoples,
I live in Perth, Western Australia. This part of the world is not exactly top when it comes to I.T. work. I graduated from uni 4 years ago, and have done misc. types of work. Mainly in the db arena. I started a business with a colleague in Singapore, but it seems to be faltering because of issues arising with Colleague, clients and to be frank, my inexperience in the business line has played a part. I was  there for the past year, and now I'm back in Oz.
Now I feel like I'm at the crossroads, I was thinking of taking up an oracle certificate, I enquired at the oracle office, and they told me its 10k for the course. For those who have done it,  it is worth the investment?. Because that is surely alot of money which I don't have right now, but willing to save up for it.

JP
Tuesday, June 15, 2004

Can't comment on the specifics of the Oracle course but I can tell you that in general, certification really only gives you a better chance of a foot in the door for a job interview.

Sure, it'll make you stand out as a cut above the rest but you'll still have to go through all the drama involved with hiring.

My feeling is that $10k spent on an Oracle course will probably only benefit Larry Ellison. ;-)  To that end, you're probably better off gaining experience and skills if you do so at someone elses expense.

TheGeezer
Tuesday, June 15, 2004

So far positive comments about certification here:

http://www.brainbox.com.au/brainbox/home.nsf/$all/8D82EC36A529BCCF49256EB4003C8B6A?opendocument

Walter Rumsby
Tuesday, June 15, 2004

I know several people who poured money into getting some kind of certification and saw nothing for it.

Unless you already have a clear and compelling idea of how it is going to pay off for you, I'd skip it.

Matt Conrad
Tuesday, June 15, 2004

Uh, do you have to pay the money to get the cert? Can you do self-study?

Philo

Philo
Tuesday, June 15, 2004