Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Java Interview

I know this is an old question, but I'm interviewing for a Java position next week and am just looking for some pointers.

I have over 3 years of experience doing Swing and Servlets. I also do Perl, Python, some C#, HTML, CSS, SQL, the usuals. At my current position I also do graphic design, maintain a Linux app server farm, design and implement marketing campaigns, sell to customers, and even some user support. Lots of stuff!

The new position wants Struts, JSP, graphic design, HTML, etc. They know I haven't done a lot with Struts, but I'm currently learning it for a project of my own, which I told them. I've done some JSP, but in my big web app I generally use XMLC for my presentation.

I know I'm meeting with some technical and HR people, so I'll probably get both sorts of questions.

I always do horrible at interviews. I stutter, I ramble on and on, I say things that I don't mean, the usual nervous act. I am a decent developer and a hard-core geek who can't stop coding even to sleep, but I'm also good at communicating with customers, and a "snappy dresser," at least according to a comment from a past interview.

So I'm looking for tips on not being nervous, what sort of technical questions I might be asked, how to answer those "what are your greatest strength"-type questions, what questions I should ask them, etc.

I interviewed with these people for a different position but messed it up by being nervous. I really like the company and want to get it right this time!

Any comments or pointers to information would be appreciated!

JD
Monday, June 14, 2004

I suppose I won't find any pointers in a Java position!

Maybe I should be a stand-up comic instead.

JD
Monday, June 14, 2004

As a technique to relax and avoid being nervous you could try to imagine that your interviewer is naked.

This doesn't work if she's a cute lady, though. But might be more interesting ;). <g>