Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

ISO: flexible, shrink-wrap e-commerce solution

Greetings!  I have been asked to advise someone on selecting a solution for an online store for a chain of retail stores that sells basic consumer goods, like watches.  I know a thing or two about e-commerce systems because I work as a developer for my company's in-house system...but I'm not familiar with shrink-wrapped systems.

This retailer wants to be serious enough that a solution like Amazon's zShops or Yahoo! Shopping isn't what they want.  However, they don't need to (or want to) spend a zillion dollars on a completely customized system.  What they need is a simple shrink-wrapped package, that offers enough flexiblity to allow them to customize the UI and add other customizations as needed.

I thought Microsoft would offer the perfect solution for something like this...sorta the "Front Page for E-Commerce", but I was surprised when after surfing around their site this evening I couldn't find anything that seemed so turn-key.  Thought Commerce Server would be the product, but it doesn't really seem to offer the online store aspect in a very robust way...the closest thing I could find is the IBuySpy example on the ASP.NET site.

All that said, here's my question: can anybody recommend such a product?  Preferably something on the Windows platform (because that is what I'm most familiar with), however Linux recommendations are welcome as well.

Thanks,

Scott

Scott
Thursday, June 10, 2004