Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Internet connectivity on the road

When traveling, how do you connect to the internet when you've got a broadband connection at home?

This is my first time traveling with a laptop since switching to broadband.  Previously I've used my company's backup dial-up account, but this is personal travel so that won't do.

Yet another anon
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

Many broadband companies also offer dialup service for a minimul extra montly charge in addition to your high-speed service.  Earthlink, AOL/TW, etc all do this.  Might be worth checking out if you travel often enough. 

Otherwise netzero.com has a 10 hour/month free deal.  I think there's probably a popup bar or some other adware though...

Joe
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

You may want to investigate a data plan with your cellular provider. Some of the plans are actually reasonable, and EDGE service is now 118kbs max iirc.

Lou
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

How about hotels?  Do they offer access through an ISP?

Yet another anon
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

Several options:
1) Cell phones with preferential data plans (Verizon, for me) and a data cable.  I get 14.4 with my 3 year old phone on Verizon, but you can now get more bandwidth.  It comes out of my minutes.  You need to check with your cell provider.
2) Broadband provider with dialup network.  http://www.Speakeasy.net does my broadband, and they give that to us.
3) Free / low cost WiFi access at cafes, hotels, etc.
4) Temporary dialup account.

Or there's always removing yourself from any mailing lists and going internet-free for a vacation.

Flamebait Sr.
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

Check with your broadband provider; many offer n hours of dial-up per month as either included in your service or for a small additional amount.  If the provider is national, they will hopefully have POPs where you are going.