Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Deprecated Java Platform Classes

Okay, I'm a newbie to Java and I'm working through the libraries.  So when I want to do something, I search through the java docs to find what I need.  The trouble is that, in a good number of cases, all the stuff I find is deprecated!  (BTW, is there anything that's not deprecated?!?)  My question is, is there a way to find out what's replacing the deprecated classes & methods?

balogna bill
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

The latest version of the JavaDocs will tell you what you should use instead.

IntelliJ will warn you and suggest a replacement when you try to use a deprecated method. Other IDEs may do the same.

dssdf
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

The javadoc is usually very clear on what replaces the deprecated code.

Specifically, what classes/methods do you want to use that are deprecated?

Caffeinated
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

No.  All the Java classes are deprecated.

name withheld out of cowardice
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

Can you give an example of what's deprecated?  In my day to day use, I find very little is.

blah
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

I agree.  I used Java full-time for about 3 years, and this is a major annoyance.  You run into deprecated classes and methods regularly and usually they don't say what to use instead.  Sometimes they deprecate and even remove it without adding any replacement, so you're SOL.  (Write your own, from scratch...)

The best I can offer is: ask coworkers, search mailing lists, and google.

Wally
Wednesday, June 09, 2004

For instance, some Thread methods are deprecated. In those cases, there's some good documentation as to why they were deprecated, so try to read that.

GG
Thursday, June 10, 2004