Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

End users' computers rant

I am branching out into computer support. Yesterday I picked up a PC from a home user that wouldn't start. (It was XP, and would only get to a blue screen with an UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME message.) It was a damned Compaq with the usual !@^* dumbed down absolutely unhelpful recovery disk crap.

Once I got it to boot, I checked it out with Spybot, Ad-Aware, Bazooka, and AVG Anti-Virus. Yee GOD. The damned box was absolutely *crawling* with bots, trojans, adware, viruses, etc. It took about 8-10 reboots and repeated scans with these tools to nail everything. My guess is that the spyware or some virus trashed some system files or even the file structure or caused a catastrophic shutdown with files still open and being written.

I am just getting started doing this type of support (previous focus was the more desirable but dwindling SW development market).  I guess I've lived a sheltered life, keeping my computers behind NAT and firewalls, running Mozilla, and never trusting any popups that manage to get through. Any system that I control is orderly, sane, and well oiled.

But... these people must have clicked on every, I mean every, single, friggin' popup, ad, online coupon, banner, offer, and must have insisted on opening up every single email attachment. They must have read some article on end user internet security and deliberately set out to do everything that is not recommended.

Of course, I will leave the best for last: this family shares a Road Runner connection with a hub, not a firewall, they do not even *know* about firewalls, and they had no anti-virus (they do now.)

Their C: drives are probably just hanging out on their neighborhood's network segment, absolutely begging PLEASE, **PLEASE** MAP ME AND SHOVE SHIT INTO MY STARTUP FOLDER, MY OWNER HAS NO CLUE.

My actual opinion: users should be required to be licensed in order to connect a computer to the public internet.