Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

sounding off: Linux - CTO has to be enormous

It was a long time ago since I've tried to install anything on Linux last time. I'm no Linux expert - just a user.

But now I have to install a bulletin board software (http://discuss.fogcreek.com/joelonsoftware/default.asp?cmd=show&ixPost=146737&ixReplies=10) written using PHP on our corporate Linux server.

I'd personally prefer ASP or .NET on Win32, but, unfortunately, its not included into our management's budget.

It took me just  few minutes to understand that we don't have the PHP module installed for our Apache webserver.

Couple minutes more and I find a PHP runtime and interpreter download at www.php.net, but (surprise, surprise) it comes in a form of yet-to-be-compiled C source.

No problem, I can handle it: I download the source and place it on the Linux box. Then following instructions on some web site I create an installation script, which should compile and install everything for me (I just roughly understand what PHP features I need for the bulletin board to be run, nevermind, I just want it to work, for the Linux sake!).

And, of course, installation script fails - although my environment is set correctly. Fiddling a bit more around with it and we're finally getting somewhere, it says:  "neither gcc nor cc found on your box, I'm sorry".

Damn! I'm glad I left a mySQL installation for a desert - it could have been just too much for one's mind.

Two and half hours since I've started I'm browsing internet like hell, trying to find gcc and here it is! In a source code form! Wonderful, couldn't be better! But, wait, lets try search for rpm...

Twenty minutes passed, I've finally got the RedHat 7.1 (Seawolf) gcc rpm, now I only have to install it... but, wait, what the heck those failed dependencies are?! Is it some kind of a really weird joke?!