Fog Creek Software
Discussion Board

Best language for GUI apps w/ web services?

Hi there. I'm a technology enthusiast, and I'm particularly interested
in emerging internet/web technologies. I have some experience with PHP
and Java, but I'm very far from an advanced programmer. I would love to
take advantage of emerging internet technologies like RSS, and
SOAP-enabled web services from the likes of Google and Amazon.

Is there a development environment and high-level language that would
be ideal for constructing simple GUI applications very easily, very
quickly, and that would be ideal for manipulating data from these
various internet sources? I want to be able to say "hey that's a neat
web service over here...hey that's a neat one over there...let's put
'em together in a simple but terribly useful way and construct an app
out of it."

What's my best bet? Thanks.

Akilesh Ayyar
Wednesday, June 02, 2004

As you can see I copied and pasted the text in... sorry about the formatting :)

Akilesh Ayyar
Wednesday, June 02, 2004

Visual C# .net

A Dingo Ate My Baby
Wednesday, June 02, 2004

You're actually looking for C# and .NET. It's an exact description of what can be done with them. :)

Green Pajamas
Wednesday, June 02, 2004

Having worked with web services, will have to agree with the .NET environment for development. I had a web app using SOAP/HTTPS and wanted to create clients. With Java I had to do some finagaling to get it to make the call, and include the SSL cert in the right places. With .NET I simply pointed Visual Studio to the URL of the WSDL file, and it was another object in Intellisense almost instantly.

Disclaimer - I haven't worked with Eclipse, so I'm not sure if someone has written a plug-in to make it easier to develop with.

But the .NET environment is definately suitable for quick and dirty apps like what you mentioned. If you have the budget I would go for that.

CF
Wednesday, June 02, 2004